Token Daily https://www.tokendaily.co Token Daily Blog en-US Copyright 2019, Token Daily Mon, 22 Jul 2019 03:38:04 -0700 Mon, 22 Jul 2019 03:38:04 -0700 60 A Close Look at Libra's Source Code https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/a-close-look-at-libra-s-source-code A close look on whether Libra’s intentions line up with what its source code tells us and explaining how Libra's software design decisions differ greatly from projects that are built in a more decentralized manner Research https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/a-close-look-at-libra-s-source-code Thu, 18 Jul 2019 11:11:27 -0700 The Fall of Certificate Authorities and The Rise of Handshake https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/the-fall-of-certificate-authorities-and-the-rise-of-handshake Research https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/the-fall-of-certificate-authorities-and-the-rise-of-handshake Tue, 02 Jul 2019 09:35:54 -0700 Why is Monero a Weak Privacy Argument? https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/why-is-monero-a-weak-privacy-argument Research https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/why-is-monero-a-weak-privacy-argument Thu, 20 Jun 2019 08:34:19 -0700 A PRIMER ON PREDICTION MARKETS https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/a-primer-on-prediction-markets General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/a-primer-on-prediction-markets Tue, 11 Jun 2019 14:11:09 -0700 Design Principles of Ethereum 2.0 https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/design-principles-of-ethereum-2-0 Research https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/design-principles-of-ethereum-2-0 Fri, 07 Jun 2019 08:28:54 -0700 Solving Identity for the New Decentralized Economy https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/solving-identity-for-the-new-decentralized-economy Research https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/solving-identity-for-the-new-decentralized-economy Sat, 01 Jun 2019 03:12:05 -0700 ELI5 Explanation of the Ethereum 2.0 Testnet https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/eli5-explanation-of-the-ethereum-2-0-testnet Research https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/eli5-explanation-of-the-ethereum-2-0-testnet Thu, 23 May 2019 10:20:55 -0700 On The Value of Decentralized Querying https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/on-the-value-of-decentralized-querying- Research https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/on-the-value-of-decentralized-querying- Thu, 02 May 2019 15:08:06 -0700 Will Binance Chain & DEX Succeed? https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/will-binance-chain-and-dex-succeed Research https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/will-binance-chain-and-dex-succeed Thu, 25 Apr 2019 13:38:13 -0700 The Next Wave of Crypto Unicorns https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/the-next-wave-of-crypto-unicorns Research https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/the-next-wave-of-crypto-unicorns Thu, 04 Apr 2019 17:20:22 -0700 On Bitcoin’s Academic Lineage https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/on-bitcoin-s-academic-lineage Research https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/on-bitcoin-s-academic-lineage Fri, 22 Mar 2019 15:07:19 -0700 P&L analysis of Uniswap Market Making https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/pnl-analysis-of-uniswap-market-making Research https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/pnl-analysis-of-uniswap-market-making Thu, 14 Mar 2019 13:28:59 -0700 An Introduction to Blockchain Finality https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/an-introduction-to-blockchain-finality Explainer Research https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/an-introduction-to-blockchain-finality Thu, 07 Mar 2019 14:05:27 -0800 Blockchain Privacy: Equal Parts Theory and Theater https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/blockchain-privacy-equal-parts-theory-and-theater The cryptocurrency community has done a poor job of evaluating privacy. We are even worse at explaining the tradeoffs of different implementations to regular users. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/blockchain-privacy-equal-parts-theory-and-theater Thu, 24 Jan 2019 11:59:46 -0800 Goodbye, Enterprise Blockchains https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/goodbye-enterprise-blockchain Ledger databases, not blockchain, is the enterprise community's path forward in this new tech era. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/goodbye-enterprise-blockchain Tue, 08 Jan 2019 16:49:29 -0800 Why Building a Quant Fund in Crypto is Harder Than People Think https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/why-building-a-quant-fund-in-crypto-is-harder-than-people-think General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/why-building-a-quant-fund-in-crypto-is-harder-than-people-think Wed, 02 Jan 2019 14:35:32 -0800 What Happens to Bitcoin in a Financial Crisis? https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/what-happens-to-bitcoin-in-financial-crisis Because we have yet to see how a novel digital asset performs during a world-wide financial crisis, there are plenty of theories around the fate of bitcoin during the next crash. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/what-happens-to-bitcoin-in-financial-crisis Wed, 26 Dec 2018 03:12:01 -0800 Security Tokens Aren't Crypto’s Holiday Gift to Digital Asset Regulation https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/no-security-tokens-are-not-crypto-s-holiday-gift-to-digital-asset-regulation General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/no-security-tokens-are-not-crypto-s-holiday-gift-to-digital-asset-regulation Sun, 23 Dec 2018 16:03:46 -0800 The 2019 Crypto Crystal Ball https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/the-2019-crypto-crystal-ball Looking in the rear-view mirror of 2018 not only offers us a moment of reflection, but shows us what’s plausible for the year ahead. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/the-2019-crypto-crystal-ball Thu, 20 Dec 2018 12:58:42 -0800 The Growing Focus on Blockchain Governance https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/the-growing-focus-on-blockchain-governance The historic under-focus on governance systems may be due to the fact that governance concerns are perceived to be about the future. But there more immediate than we'd like to believe. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/the-growing-focus-on-blockchain-governance Sun, 02 Dec 2018 09:33:57 -0800 MimbleWimble: The Good and The Bad https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/mimblewimble-the-good-and-the-bad MimbleWimble, or MW in short, is an approach that was proposed by an anonymous developer to improve the privacy features of Bitcoin. Token Reviews https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/mimblewimble-the-good-and-the-bad Fri, 09 Nov 2018 14:12:59 -0800 Dispelling myths about Ethereum's disk space https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/dispelling-myths-about-ethereum-s-disk-space Ethereum disk bloat anxiety is a non-issue, but it's a nuanced topic that's led to misleading, sensationalist headlines. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/dispelling-myths-about-ethereum-s-disk-space Wed, 07 Nov 2018 13:41:27 -0800 Staking as a Service https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/on-staking-as-a-service In anticipation of PoS networks starting to come online, there has been a boom in the number of ‘staking as a service’ businesses being launched. Token Reviews https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/on-staking-as-a-service Thu, 01 Nov 2018 14:55:10 -0700 The Death of 'Decentralization' https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/the-death-of-decentralization Decentralization isn’t a “bad” word — it’s just a marketing phrase. The ultimate goal of most of these networks is to reach some degree of decentralization, but to call something “decentralized” is a bit misleading. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/the-death-of-decentralization Mon, 22 Oct 2018 14:57:39 -0700 What Does Having True Digital Ownership Mean? https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/what-does-having-true-digital-ownership-mean As you’ve probably realized by now, we don’t actually own any of our stuff online—Twitter handles, Facebook friends lists, bank accounts, items in video games, event tickets—they’re constantly on-loan from companies. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/what-does-having-true-digital-ownership-mean Thu, 18 Oct 2018 14:57:04 -0700 A Taxonomy of Stablecoins https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/a-taxonomy-of-stablecoins Critically, one has to understand that not all stablecoins are built the same. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/a-taxonomy-of-stablecoins Tue, 09 Oct 2018 10:17:12 -0700 The Decentralised Threat to Advertising https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/the-decentralised-threat-to-advertising There's a new threat on the horizon, one which the advertising industry is woefully prepared for. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/the-decentralised-threat-to-advertising Fri, 05 Oct 2018 14:38:17 -0700 A Primer on Fractional Reserve Banking https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/a-primer-on-fractional-reserve-banking There are two factions within Austrian Economics: There’s the “full reserve banking” faction, and the “fractional reserve banking” faction. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/a-primer-on-fractional-reserve-banking Thu, 04 Oct 2018 14:49:42 -0700 Cryptonetworks and the Theory of the Firm https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/cryptonetworks-and-the-theory-of-the-firm If Austrian economics is the theoretical foundation for Bitcoin, I think Ronald Coase is the inspiration for general cryptonetworks. Token Reviews https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/cryptonetworks-and-the-theory-of-the-firm Mon, 01 Oct 2018 13:34:20 -0700 Reputation in Web3 https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/reputation-in-web-3 Reputation, on the Internet, has been warped for a very simple reason: we don’t know what the systems to derive reputation look like on a global scale. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/reputation-in-web-3 Thu, 27 Sep 2018 13:42:56 -0700 A Primer on Austrian Economics https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/a-primer-on-austrian-economics If you’ve gotten into Bitcoin, you’ve probably heard the term “Austrian Economics.” Because The Austrian School underpins much of the sound money narrative, I want to give a short primer on Austrian Economics. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/a-primer-on-austrian-economics Fri, 21 Sep 2018 18:15:41 -0700 Blockchain-based Issuance https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/how-to-issue-a-token An overview of all of the different options that issuers have when launching their token, and the pros and cons of each. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/how-to-issue-a-token Thu, 20 Sep 2018 14:57:40 -0700 Building a Developer Community https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/building-a-developer-community In the crypto space, it’s important to follow where the developers are going, and I’ve been excited to see this through the lens of the Ethereum community. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/building-a-developer-community Fri, 14 Sep 2018 12:17:32 -0700 Randomness in Blockchains https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/randomness-in-blockchains For all its familiarity and abundance, humans have a hard time translating the randomness around us into something that computers can use. When we talk about randomness in a computer system, what we really mean is pseudo-randomness. Token Reviews https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/randomness-in-blockchains Thu, 13 Sep 2018 17:12:28 -0700 A primer on Mining 2.0 https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/a-primer-on-mining-2-0 Crypto investing teams are going to have to be multidisciplinary. It’s not just about having investors and sourcers anymore. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/a-primer-on-mining-2-0 Wed, 12 Sep 2018 20:11:44 -0700 What is Augur? https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/what-is-augur A look at Augur, an Ethereum-based platform for prediction markets. Token Reviews https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/what-is-augur Tue, 11 Sep 2018 19:39:24 -0700 How to Break Into Cryptocurrency https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/how-to-break-into-cryptocurrency Before diving into specific career paths, let me ask you three important questions to start noodling on. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/how-to-break-into-cryptocurrency Wed, 05 Sep 2018 12:17:15 -0700 What is Civic? https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/what-is-civic Civic is a decentralized application built on Ethereum for identity verification Token Reviews https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/what-is-civic Tue, 04 Sep 2018 17:06:40 -0700 What is Sound Money? https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/what-is-sound-money There's a tendency to throw around the term Sound Money without really knowing what it means, so here's a primer on what it is, where it comes from, and why it matters. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/what-is-sound-money Thu, 30 Aug 2018 13:51:23 -0700 What is Lisk? https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/what-is-lisk Lisk is a cryptocurrency that aims to be a platform for decentralized applications (dApps) running on sidechains. It uses an EOS-style dPoS consensus algorithm for speed and scalability. Token Reviews https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/what-is-lisk Tue, 28 Aug 2018 17:26:42 -0700 Declarative Smart Contracts https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/declarative-smart-contracts Declarative contracts align the structure of the contract implementation with the reality of the chain by defining exactly what state modifications are permissible, and letting the user modify state directly. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/declarative-smart-contracts Thu, 23 Aug 2018 10:51:37 -0700 Cryptocurrency and the turkey problem https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/cryptocurrency-and-the-turkey-problem Paul Krugman is wrong -- money should optimize for thoroughness and security, not efficiency. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/cryptocurrency-and-the-turkey-problem Tue, 21 Aug 2018 22:05:26 -0700 What is Steem? https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/what-is-steem Steem is a cryptocurrency for a social blogging platform. It has a unique consensus algorithm and economic system that allows it to have the best user experience out of all cryptocurrencies to date. Token Reviews https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/what-is-steem Tue, 21 Aug 2018 14:29:58 -0700 Regulatory Tribalism https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/regulatory-tribalism Before we can achieve efficient and unbiased policy outcomes, actors in the cryptocurrency industry must first acknowledge the discrepancy in incentives and desired policy. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/regulatory-tribalism Mon, 20 Aug 2018 11:49:15 -0700 Minimum Viable Security https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/minimum-viable-security 2018 is on track to being the busiest year ever for crypto hacks. As of June of this year, losses from crypto attacks were estimated to total around $2.3 billion, and hackers have shown no signs of slowing down. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/minimum-viable-security Wed, 15 Aug 2018 09:00:37 -0700 What is Ripple? https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/what-is-ripple Ripple is a cryptocurrency backed by a well-funded company. It uses a different consensus algorithm and data structure from Bitcoin to enable fast and cheap transactions. Token Reviews https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/what-is-ripple Tue, 14 Aug 2018 12:58:14 -0700 Capitalism is dead https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/capitalism-is-dead Capitalism is based on persons allocating scarce resources to exchange work in a competitive market - with profit maximization being the only goal. This competitive drive took us to new heights, but we're now trending towards a different future. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/capitalism-is-dead Mon, 13 Aug 2018 10:56:29 -0700 Money Crypto vs. Tech Crypto https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/money-crypto-vs-tech-crypto Crypto has a bit of a narrative problem. When talking about Why Crypto Matters and where The Big Opportunity is, people often begin from different assumptions and have different ends in mind. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/money-crypto-vs-tech-crypto Fri, 10 Aug 2018 15:52:15 -0700 Building companies in Web 2.0 vs. Web 3.0 https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/building-companies-in-web-2-0-vs-web-3-0 From a founder’s perspective, there remain universal company-building fundamentals that apply whether or not your project comes with a token. General https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/building-companies-in-web-2-0-vs-web-3-0 Thu, 09 Aug 2018 13:51:50 -0700 Giving money away https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/giving-money-away Whatever they call it: an airdrop, a gift, or a giveaway, the idea is the same: noble intentions of correcting long-standing iniquities. But how effective can giving away money truly be? Token Reviews https://www.tokendaily.co/blog/giving-money-away Wed, 08 Aug 2018 06:48:39 -0700